wheelies

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2003, 04:53 PM

tension-ez is an unknown quantity at this point
Question wheelies

I've been riding for two seasons and still can't wheelie So many people tell me a different way to get the front up...What the easiest way to wheelie?
Old 10-11-2003, 05:01 PM
I Love To Post!

Sean24 is an unknown quantity at this point
you cant wheelie a TL1000????????
Old 10-11-2003, 05:12 PM

I'm riding a YZF600 the Tl is coming soon
Old 10-12-2003, 06:05 PM

Dave W is an unknown quantity at this point
Hey i'm pretty new to the art of poppin' wheelies myself but i can finally manage to do it pretty much on command. They could be bigger, and i hope to eventually ride them out for longer, but i can at least do it allright. Anyway, you asked the easiest way to do it...i ride a zx6R and can do it one of two ways....using the clutch or just commin on hard...real hard on the thorttle. That's how i first managed to get it up, and it's come up high enough for me to see the front wheel spinning while i'm sitting just from the throttle. I really think doin it off the throttle is the easiest way to learn it. For some reason even though i was tryin to wheelie i always had a natural reaction to lean FOWARD while attempting to lift the front end, this had a real negative impact on my ability to wheelie. Once i started shifting my weight back farther, getting the bike into it's powerband, and just opening the throttle it wheelied just fine. I just about sh** myself a couple times when it came up real high, the front end just kept climbing higher and higher as long as the RPM's were rising. But it's what worked for me. I can do it with the clutch now, in 1st and 2nd, and it's definatly more controlled. I just slip in the clutch around 25-30mph so that the RPM's soar and then let it out quickly and open it full throttle while giving the handle bars a little jerk. Works perfectly. I think the real thing that holds people (myself included) back from popping a g