Wheelie ? for a ZX9R..

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2004, 09:50 PM

lobe50 is an unknown quantity at this point
Wheelie ? for a ZX9R..

Hi All,

I am new to my ZX9R, and trying to wheelie. i have been riding dirtbikes, quads, and harleys since i was a kid, so i got the basics of wheeling down.

I read the sticky, but my questions are:
When trying to clutch a wheelie in 1st gear I have to be up to around 5500-6000rpm (approx. 40mph) to get it up. If I try to do it at lower speeds the back tire spins (it has a 200 series on the rear).
If I try it in 2nd gear, either the tire spins, or the clutch is slipping?? I can't really tell???

The bike has a K&N, and a Muzzy pipe for mods.
Any suggestions ?????
Thanx....
Old 10-04-2004, 09:52 PM

DoodleF4i can only hope to improve
Re: Wheelie ? for a ZX9R..

sometimes i get spin when i try clutching 1st,try leaning back adding more weight to the back wheel.also try droping the psi a little bit.and are you slipping the clutch or just "dumping" it?
Old 10-04-2004, 11:41 PM

headache is an unknown quantity at this point

You may need a new rear tire, I can clutch mine up at 3000rpm in first when i have a good tire on the back. Also my clutch is kind of picky it has a "sweet"spot that it needs to be adjusted at or it will slip when i try to clutch up 2nd gear sitdowns. Your bike should power wheelie at 4000rpm in first with no problem. Try letting some air out of the rear tire too, like 25psi.
Old 10-05-2004, 01:02 AM
Is building another f4i

skillz is just really niceskillz is just really niceskillz is just really niceskillz is just really niceskillz is just really nice

sounds like your crowding the tank , can't tell without a pic
Old 10-05-2004, 08:56 AM

lobe50 is an unknown quantity at this point

Well the tire is a Brand new Michelin 200, but I will check the air pressure in it

And maybe I am too far up towards the tank as mentioned, I will experiment more.

Is there any other ways to check for clutch slippage??