Help me balance my wheelies!!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2008, 03:29 PM

hondacrf150f1 is a decent person
Help me balance my wheelies!!!

Ok here's the story, i started practicing some wheelies a few months ago on a XR650R supermoto. I just started with some quick 1st gear pop ups, which leaded to 2nd gear wheelies. After some practice i learned i was able to pull the bike up in 2nd gear, and shift to 3rd and keep on going. So right now im able to go maby 50-75 feet. But i am useing only throttle to keep the front wheel off the ground, and use engine brakeing to drop back down, and i have yet to learn balance point.

I recently picked up a CRF450R supermoto which i thought would be a lot easier to wheelie. It is easier to pull the front wheel up but i am yet to be able to shift from gear to gear. I find the 450 pulls up hard but doesnt keep pulling in the same gear like the 650.

Anyway i would really like to try some balance point wheelies. I have expiremented with the rear brake to set myself down but never actually needed it. I really dont think i have enough controle with the rear brake to hold myself in the wheelie. I think if i did manige to get to the brake in time i would just slam my front wheel down. And i really dont feel like i can controle the brake while im concentrating on the wheelie

This stuff is the definition of "harder than it looks"....any advise is apprishaited

Last edited by hondacrf150f1; 03-12-2008 at 03:32 PM.
Old 03-12-2008, 03:36 PM

Standupnfall is a decent person
Re: Help me balance my wheelies!!!

Where In CT? Ill be riding in Westchester County NY tonight around 7. Just keep going higher and higher, inch by inch and you will notice the revs rising slower. Also, work on first gear till you get the brake down, There is less engine break the higher the gear
Old 03-13-2008, 01:23 PM
540 BOYZ SUMO STUNTER

E-Loc540 is an unknown quantity at this point