broken Clutch basket?

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2020, 04:09 AM

Dealia is a decent person
Question broken Clutch basket?

Hello guys!
I'm new to the stunting scene, but after torturing my 05 cbr 1000rr for a couple of weeks I finally managed to balance point the sitdowns.
But at my last practice as I dropped the clutch the bike made a loud cracking noise. Sounded like cogs hitting each other.
The bike came up fine and stayed up but it sounded funny and was shaky as hell. The whole bike was vibrating and it felt like it came from the drivetrain.
My sprockets and chain were gnarly so I swapped out tires/oil/filter/chain and sprockets and did a valve adjustment cause of valve noise (which has been there since I bought the bike).
I finished the bike up yesterday and went for a ride.
The bike was more stable on normal hard acceleration, but as soon as I did a clutch-up the wheel/drivetrain started to vibrate like it had severe parkinsons.
There is no loss in power and the valve noise is gone, but I hear a slight buzz from the back of the engine when I rev it high enough in neutral.
Could my basket be missing teeth?
Has anyone had similar issues and how did you ressolve them?
Thanks for the help in advance.
Old 10-05-2020, 05:55 AM

R6Ruckus is a decent person
Re: broken Clutch basket?

if you can do a valve adjustment, opening up the clutch basket should be extremely easy. just draw a diagram on cardboard of where the bolts go; cuz they typically aren not all the same. and dont mix up the order of the disks (it's possible they are identical, you can rearrange them to put the more worn out ones in a less abused gear: be EXTRA careful) clean them up a bit with mild scotchbright.

does the bike try to roll away when you shift into first while at a stop?

do an oil change, and metal peices?
Old 10-05-2020, 06:10 AM

Didn't find any metal pieces in the oil, but I have only drained the oil. I have not removed the oil pan to have a look inside.