900RR hi rpm issue

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2005, 04:30 PM

955iDisastar is an unknown quantity at this point
900RR hi rpm issue

I ran accross this issue recently with my 96 900rr. The bike lurches at around 9 to 10 thousand RPM. Just started happening recently. It was doing it free reving it as well untill I changed the plugs... thought my problem was fixed until I got it out on the road and it happend again. Now it only happens under a load as it will free rev to the limiter of around 12k. I am an expirienced tech so I have gone through the obvious.

Things I've checked
Cam timing OK
Carbs OK
tank and pet**** Ok (haha funny wont let me say that )
changed the ECM
changed coils caps plugs and wires
air filter I'm kinda woried about, I used some "Fiber Filter Oil" made for fiber filters like K&N's but it wasn't a K&N brand filter oil ... think it was bel ray or something... yes I'm sure it was for "fiber filters" but I've never used the stuff before. Maybee this afternoon I'll try runnin it with the filter out.

Things I want to check
compression
valve lash

basically I'm just tryin to see if anyones had his issue with there's and how they might have fixed it.

Thanks
D
Old 05-07-2005, 04:47 PM

Saxton is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 900RR hi rpm issue

Originally Posted by 955iDisastar
I ran accross this issue recently with my 96 900rr. The bike lurches at around 9 to 10 thousand RPM. Just started happening recently. It was doing it free reving it as well untill I changed the plugs... thought my problem was fixed until I got it out on the road and it happend again. Now it only happens under a load as it will free rev to the limiter of around 12k. I am an expirienced tech so I have gone through the obvious.
D