Stoppies

Old 02-20-2013, 10:29 PM

quentinludwig is a decent person
Stoppies

Hi everyone. I'm new to stunts and I have a few questions. After my first few stoppies (40MPH ish) I blew my fork seals. Is that normal or should I get better parts? Or are there settings that I should use on my suspension to avoid this? Maybe I just have crappy forks? Any info would be helpful. Thanks in advance!
Old 02-22-2013, 01:48 AM

661gsxr is a decent person
Re: Stoppies

street bike suspension isnt designed to handle stoppies or wheelies. both are terrible for the seal. its all a matter of how old the seals are. fork seals blow all the time. mostly cause the weight of the bike is always on them. if you dont set a dirt bike on a center stand the seals will blow in about 7 months maybe more. but they will blow. its just wear and tear. and allll ways go OEM fork seals.
Old 02-22-2013, 10:24 AM

Cool. Thanks for the response. I was thinking, since I'm just learning all this, maybe it could have been slamming down from a wheelie also. IS it a good idea for me to learn how to fix my forks myself? I'm okay damaging my bike as long as I learn to do cool tricks. Just curious though...Why go OEM replacements?
Old 02-23-2013, 12:21 PM

pyr0niak is a decent person

Originally Posted by quentinludwig
Just curious though...Why go OEM replacements?
9/10 oem > aftermarket. This is true with car parts as well...
Old 03-14-2013, 01:41 AM

661gsxr is a decent person

ive been a motorcycle mechanic for about 7 years now. replacing the for seals isnt the hardest thing to do but its a bitch. i just pay to have mine done or i know a suspension tech and buy him some beer for the work. oem seal and parts are made specifically for that bike. tolerences are way tighter. aftermarket just cant keep up
Old 03-19-2013, 03:49 PM

Stubbz is an unknown quantity at this point