Changing out the sprockets and chain ?

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2004, 08:56 PM

Prime Time29 is an unknown quantity at this point
Changing out the sprockets and chain ?

Yeah obviously I am new to this so I got a question

I want to be able to do better stand up wheelies and I have had a lot of guys tell me that by changing the teeth on the front and rear sprocket that will give me more power and the bike will come of the ground easier and faster and I wont have to pull as much.

I also had a budy tell me to put a K&N filter and a power comander on it with a full exhasut but I aint got the extra 4 g's to do that.

I have a suzuki gsx-r 600 and I havent done anything to it as of yet because I dont know what type of combination to do with the sprockets and chain?

any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 01-09-2004, 06:11 PM

UFDKris is an unknown quantity at this point
If you don't want to go to radical go -1 down in the front and 2up in the rear makes a huge diffrence on a stock bike + you can use your stock chain.
Old 01-09-2004, 07:13 PM

Prime Time29 is an unknown quantity at this point
Originally posted by UFDKris
If you don't want to go to radical go -1 down in the front and 2up in the rear makes a huge diffrence on a stock bike + you can use your stock chain.
okay but how much top end speed am I gonna loose from doing that?
and arent you supposed to change the chain out also when you drop or add teeth?
Old 01-09-2004, 08:00 PM
Erion 929 Pimp

DoubleRJef is an unknown quantity at this point
Originally posted by UFDKris
I think what he is saying is with that combination your stock chain will be the right length.
Old 01-09-2004, 08:10 PM

SHAWNDUNN00 is an unknown quantity at this point
if you only go 1 down/ four up you can still use the stock chain, also, yes it would give you more low end torque, and you will only lose about 10 miles per hour in the top.