Stunt Bike Forums Street Motorcycle Videos


Go Back   Stunt Bike Forum > Main Discussion Forums > Help and How-To > Stunting Help and Advice
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Home Register Pictures FAQ Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Vendor Directory Videos Classifieds

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-29-2006, 08:05 PM   #1
wheres all the fat girls
 
martino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northern Va
Age: 34
Bike: F4i F4i F4i 636 636
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,439
martino is a decent person
F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

Here's whats involved. 10 minute easy job, makes a much cleaner idle, seems stronger. Definitely easier to adjust. The stock adjustment sucks for some reason.
Prop the front of the tank up, take the air filter off and its right there.

The little stopper screw that I'm holding gets taken out and replaced by any Honda idle screw. I used one off of a 92 F2- its plenty long. I put a little lube on the threads. The factory adjuster does it internally somehow and it makes the idle irregular and make the thing run real rich and bizzare. The new idle screw just cracks the throttle plates open just like if your opening it with the throttle.
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on StuntLife !
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 11.JPG (82.2 KB, 928 views)
File Type: jpg 22.JPG (87.4 KB, 964 views)

Last edited by martino; 09-29-2006 at 08:08 PM.
martino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 08:34 PM   #2
F*(K Yut Uggh
 
287ridah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Streets of Sacramento California
Bike: Something FF w/ mudflap & blinkers
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,422
287ridah is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

nice job. Im hoping to get a f4i so I'll come back to this post. Thx
287ridah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 09:11 PM   #3
I Enjoy Posting At StuntLife!
 
Ho_Hey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Valdosta, GA www.HoHeydesigns.com
Age: 40
Bike: F4i
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,626
Ho_Hey is a decent person
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

Add some hose into the picture and it makes it even easier to adjust with gloves on

http://www.stuntlife.com/forums/show...ighlight=cable (F4i idle screw relocation)

Check out the pictures
Ho_Hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 01:22 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Snipes20's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: london, Ontario
Age: 32
Bike: F4I, 600RR
Gender: Male
Posts: 649
Snipes20 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

good help boys
Snipes20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 02:09 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Md
Age: 31
Bike: smokin joes cbr 600-sold 02 r1 04 636
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,985
Turtle will become famous soon enough Turtle will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to Turtle
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

i turned my screw out yesterday and have been having a ***** of a problem getting it to go back in...did you all take the throttle bodies off to screw it back in ?
Turtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 03:33 PM   #6
u been huffin?
 
f4ibry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SACTOWN,cali
Age: 28
Bike: RR Warehouse: 06 1thizzRR/ 05 600RR stunt aparatus
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,285
f4ibry is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

i just did this and i was doing everything i could to not have to take throttle boddies off cuz im lazy...287ridah-alex fished his hand and got that ***** up in there...

what i recommend is puttin a small piece of electrical tape over the spring and washer at the end of the idle cable so u dont loose those in the jungle of hoses down there.

next go in above the chain almost comming from the back of the bike with ur hand manunver it all the way to where it screws in(called the wax unit) its pretty much a shot in the dark but if u can get ur finger on the hole where it screws in chances are ull get it...took me 3 times of ****ing around to figure out to go from the back rather from the side where the original cable goes....

its really handy to have a honda manual that way u can see the wax element and what u are feeling when u are doing it

does that help?? lol
f4ibry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 03:35 PM   #7
u been huffin?
 
f4ibry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SACTOWN,cali
Age: 28
Bike: RR Warehouse: 06 1thizzRR/ 05 600RR stunt aparatus
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,285
f4ibry is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

and since ur this far. cuz i did this with tank and airbox off, u might as well add that second idle cable and do some ****!!!!
f4ibry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 11:59 PM   #8
Registered User
 
krazykyle85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: anaheim
Bike: 03 636, 05 YZ250
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,443
krazykyle85 is a decent person
Send a message via AIM to krazykyle85
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

i installed a secound idle cable the way described....
the first one fell out while riding... took forever to getg it back in...
an now it does NOTHING when i skrew it in or out an if i unskrew 2nd cable till it doesnt affect idle it has a high idle an stock adjuster does nothing... anyone know how to fix this?
do i need to rebuild the wax unit?
krazykyle85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 07:59 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Standupnfall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NY
Bike: F4i, XR100, CRF50
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,600
Standupnfall is a decent person
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

Bump. Do this... It works, and takes 30-45 min start to finish
Standupnfall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 08:20 PM   #10
Registered User
 
havok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: kingston NEW YORK
Age: 34
Bike: 01 minty f4i/01 stunty f4i
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,732
havok is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

the stock idle (called the fast idle wax unit) controls the air to fuel mix,,,so when you unscrew it it throws off the throttle bodies,and when replacing the stock one your supposed to adjust the throttle bodies(valve adjustment),,, had my go bad had a shitty shop fix it(the didnt and told me they did) cause me to crash bend a clipon and rotor,,,,due to the fact that when they removed the throttle bodies they spunn the throttle cables(twisted)and the bike was running on 3 cylinders,vac lines wer kris- crossed, soo i was just going around a turn and the bike went wide open i hit a curb and went flying though the air.........................

moral......fix it yourself,or have someone who knows what they are doing,,and i mean----really knows........thank you for listening


as standupnfall would say............post counts a climbing
havok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 02:49 AM   #11
Registered User
 
MIKE C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Back in MANI,WI
Bike: 2 04 636,02 f4i, 93 streetfighter
Gender: Male
Posts: 416
MIKE C is a decent person
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

[quote=martino;2313715]Here's whats involved. 10 minute easy job, makes a much cleaner idle, seems stronger. Definitely easier to adjust. The stock adjustment sucks for some reason.
Prop the front of the tank up, take the air filter off and its right there.

The little stopper screw that I'm holding gets taken out and replaced by any Honda idle screw. I used one off of a 92 F2- its plenty long. I put a little lube on the threads. The factory adjuster does it internally somehow and it makes the idle irregular and make the thing run real rich and bizzare. The new idle screw just cracks the throttle plates open just like if your opening it with the throttle.[/quote

Thanks fo da info:YEAH
MIKE C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 09:40 AM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: new milford
Bike: 01' f4i 93 fzr600
Gender: Male
Posts: 38
DanKelly is a decent person
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

wow, lol, BEFORE you do this mid, make your idle perfect 1300 stock and tuck the stock adjuster away and forget about it, then put the new one in, if you up the idle with the new adjuster, then mess with the stock one, you will mess up the idle air mix and youll be all screwed up, the stock one just bypasses the butterflies using the airbleeds, the mod moves the butterlies instead, which is better cuz thats the closest thing to actually twistin the throttle tube, okie dokie?
DanKelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 05:23 PM   #13
Registered User
 
keshon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tracy, California
Age: 34
Bike: 2002 F4(i) 2003 xr50 2004crf50
Gender: Male
Posts: 365
keshon is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to keshon Send a message via Yahoo to keshon
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

i did this mod, and when i started the bike the rpms went to like 9 grand. I turned the new idle cable to bring it down to like 2. But now when i turn it nothing happens and it stays at stock idle. Is it possible that i turned it to much and it fell out.
keshon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 11:34 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: cypress
Bike: 929
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
stunterdude is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

i had to cut the end of the new idle cable down some so it would fit right
stunterdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 11:52 PM   #15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: LB, CA, USA
Bike: Triumph 675, Kawasaki 636, Honda F4i
Gender: Male
Posts: 616
undercvr_skank is a decent person
Send a message via AIM to undercvr_skank
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

my stock idle fell out a few weeks ago. the bike seams to run well. i dont even know where to start to put it back in. i know alot of you guys say leave it in and leave it alone or else itll run like crap. but mine seams to run well. should i not worry about it?
undercvr_skank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 10:31 AM   #16
Kelm
Guest
 
Bike:
Gender:
Posts: n/a
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

Alright.
My F4i has the fast wax idle havock described,
and then the one you did Martino, in fact I think you did it with Frank.

but anwyays. So if my original idle controls the air/fuel then what should it to be set too on the rpms? as low as it will go and then I turn up the throttle tube idle to get to the idle I want? basically what should the f4i idle be set at normally.

sorry. im high. haha
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 10:31 AM   #17
Kelm
Guest
 
Bike:
Gender:
Posts: n/a
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanKelly View Post
wow, lol, BEFORE you do this mid, make your idle perfect 1300 stock and tuck the stock adjuster away and forget about it, then put the new one in, if you up the idle with the new adjuster, then mess with the stock one, you will mess up the idle air mix and youll be all screwed up, the stock one just bypasses the butterflies using the airbleeds, the mod moves the butterlies instead, which is better cuz thats the closest thing to actually twistin the throttle tube, okie dokie?
nevermind. thank you!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 05:42 PM   #18
Registered User
 
keshon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tracy, California
Age: 34
Bike: 2002 F4(i) 2003 xr50 2004crf50
Gender: Male
Posts: 365
keshon is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to keshon Send a message via Yahoo to keshon
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

well i screwed the new cable in as far as the stock one was at. But then when i started the bike the rpms were hecka high then it went down when i turned it but then it did not do anything after that
keshon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 11:46 PM   #19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: LB, CA, USA
Bike: Triumph 675, Kawasaki 636, Honda F4i
Gender: Male
Posts: 616
undercvr_skank is a decent person
Send a message via AIM to undercvr_skank
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

does anyone have any detailed instructions on where and how to put the stock f4i idle cable back in?>
undercvr_skank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 10:21 AM   #20
Registered User
 
crazy636stunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: terre haute indiana usa
Bike: 2005 636, 2004 r1
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,147
crazy636stunter is a decent person
Re: F4i Idle Screw Mod (pics)

Quote:
Originally Posted by undercvr_skank View Post
does anyone have any detailed instructions on where and how to put the stock f4i idle cable back in?>

there is no stock idle cable for an f4i.
crazy636stunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 10:21 AM
Stuntlife
Stunt




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
Information and pictures copyright 2002-2007
Passwords Backup